In The Crease - Volume 5

Welcome back to “In The Crease” with Team 91 Long Island. Summer lacrosse is in action and our teams are crushing it to start the season. We are excited to release Volume 5 of “In The Crease” with all of you. This week we feature all of our High School and college players who had standout 2022 seasons and have reached goals all our 91 players dream about. Good luck to all our teams the rest of the Summer and thank you for taking the time to stay up to date with 91 news. Hope you Enjoy!

If you have news or mention-worthy news, please send copy to

Team 91 High School Standouts

joey spallina

Joey Spallina Tops Long Island Record Books

Our 2022 #1 recruit with a high school career that was a season short due to Covid, was still able to reach one the most coveted records in all of lacrosse. The Long Island Points Record which was been untouched at 500 points for about a decade found a new home in Joey Spallina with 507 total points. Spallina finished off his career in dominating fashion with 169 points (77 goals, 92 assists).

91 Girls
91 LI Logo

All Suffolk County Honors

All Conference 1A

  • Attack | Alexa Preston, Longwood
  • Defense | Emily Murtha, William Floyd

LILJ High School Girls End of the Season Watch List

Congratulations to the following 91 Girls:


  • Ava Benasutti (Attack) Centereach
  • Kristin Dee (Attack) Sachem North
  • Gianna Vecchio (Attack) Miller Place
  • Riley Hetman (Midfield) Sachem North
  • Olivia Coffey (Midfield) Miller Place
  • Sophia Ingenito (Midfield) Miller Place
  • Amelia Pirozzi (Midfield) Ward Melville
  • MJ Timpanaro (Midfield) Ward Melville
  • Sofia Zumbrunn (Midfield) Sachem North
  • Madison Hall (Defense) Miller Place


  • Sabrina Doyle (Attack) Westhampton
  • Alexa Preston (Attack) Longwood
  • Lindsey Radmann (Attack) Comsewogue
  • Lauren Spivak (Attack) Center Moriches
  • Gabby Constant (Midfield) Comsewogue
  • Payton Lavalle (Midfield) Willliam Floyd
  • Emily Murtha (Defense) William Floyd
  • Catie Edson (Defense) Ward Melville
  • Olivia Van Dyke (Defense) Rocky Point
  • Elani Correa (Goalie) Longwood

LILJ High School Boys End of the Season Watch List

Congratulations to the following 91 Boys:


  • Ben Morris (Attack) Bayport
  • Ryan Hannaford (Attack) Bayport
  • Luke Breslin (Attack) St. Anthony's
  • Zachary Brittman (Attack) Ward Melville
  • Lucas Laforge (Attack) Mt. Sinai
  • Jared Beschel (Attack) Manhasset
  • Liam Gregorek (Midfield) SWR
  • Ryan Wilson (Midfield) SWR
  • Brett Oppenheim (Midfield) Mt. Sinai
  • Mike Mondiello (Midfield) Manhasset
  • Maclin Keyser (Midfield) Bayport
  • Dante Vardaro (Defense) St. Anthony's
  • Vincent Bolognino (Defense) Harborfields
  • Mikey Luce (Defense) Bayport
  • Ben Fox (Defense) Chaminade
  • Aidan McMinn (Defense) Ward Melville
  • Rowan Collins (LSM) Manhasset
  • Michael Moon (FOGO) St. Anthony's
  • Brady Smith (Goalie) Bayport
  • Sal Caputo (Goalie) Chaminade


  • Jack Speidell (Attack) St. Anthony's
  • Nikolas Barbero (Attack) Ward Melville
  • Owen Duffy (Attack) St. Anthony's
  • Cole Marsala (Attack) Mt. Sinai
  • Cody Suhr (Attack) Sachem North
  • Ryan Mayerhofer (Attack) Southside
  • PJ Shanahan (Attack) Bayport
  • Ronan Fitzpatrick (Attack) Sayville
  • JJ Aiello (Midfield) Bayport
  • Tyler McCarthy (Midfield) Connetquot
  • Jackson Greene (Midfield) St. Anthony's
  • Jack Ponzio (Midfield) St. Anthony's
  • Jake Spallina (Midfield) Mt. Sinai
  • Nicholas Cairo (Midfield) Oceanside
  • James Reid (Midfield) Sachem North
  • Nicholas Meoni (Midfield) Sachem North
  • Jack Mayerhofer (Midfield) Southside
  • Joseph Forchelli (Midfield) MacArthur
  • Brett Spallina (LSM) Mt. Sinai
  • Glenn Platania (Defense) St. Anthony's
  • Matt Bove (Defense) John Glenn
  • Tyler Giuliano (Defense) Sachem East
  • Nick Jaferis (Defense) Mt. Sinai
  • Luke Martin (Defense) St. Anthony's
  • Ryan Thorne (Defense) Middle Country
  • Shane Mosia (Defense) Plainedge
  • Michael Cassano (Defense) MacArthur
  • Eric Grahn (Goalie) Bayport
  • Brayden Wilcken (Goalie) Mt. Sinai

Girls Coach Claire Petersen Inducted into Stony Brook Hall of Fame

Hall of fame

Congratulations Coach Claire Petersen

2013 Stony Brook Alumni and now Coach of our 2029 Roar, 2030 Fury and 2032-2033 Futures teams has been inducted into this year's Stony Brook Hall of Fame Class. In two seasons at Stony Brook, Petersen helped elevate the women's lacrosse program into the national spotlight. Petersen was the program's first All-American in 2012 and led the team to their first ever NCAA Tournament berth in 2013. Claire is all over the Stony Brook record books and we are glad she chose to share her knowledge and skillset with our program here at 91.

2022 Senior All-Star Game Appearance

Congratulations 91 Alumni 2017 Titanium and Florida Southern goalie Britt Iamele (Rocky Point) on playing in the IWLCA Senior All-Star Game!

All Star

Team 91 2022 USILA All Americans

V5 Brennan ONeill

Brennan O'Neill - 2nd Team (Attack)

v5 Ethan Rall

Ethan Rall - 2nd Team (LSM)

V5 Kenny Brower

Kenny Brower - 3rd Team (Defense)

V5 Tyler Carpenter

Tyler Carpenter - 3rd Team (LSM)

V5 Andrew McAdorey

Andrew McAdorey - Honorable Mention (Midfield)

V5 Greg Campisi

Greg Campisi - Honorable Mention (LSM)

Team 91 2022 National Champions

National Title Nassau

Congratulations Coach John Savage ('29 Power, '30 Lions, '32 Futures) and Goalie Andrew Tittman ('21 Ambush) and the Nassau Lions on winning their second consecutive NJCAA National Title

National Title RIT

Recent Tournament Champs

champ 1

2029 Roar - Queen of the Island Champions

champ 2

2031 Orange - Queen of the Island Champions

Champ 3

2031 Titans - Summer Faceoff Champions

champ 4

2030 Lions - Summer Faceoff Champions

2025 Shock Takes Home NLF Summer Kickoff Championship

A rivalry renewed turned into a classic battle between two neighborhood rivals. Team 91 Shock came away with the one goal win over Express Channy 8-7 with a game clinching goal from Northport product Dylan Baumgarth.

Read More Here

NLF Champs

Recent Tournament Champs